Image

Fearfully and Wonderfully Made

Ever wonder how God loves you?  A visit on Psalm 139 will give you a profound description of His love and full knowledge of you.

I personally love Psalm 139:14, ‘I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful.’  I would claim this verse when I am in need of God’s reassurance .

Funny though, there was a time when this verse doesn’t speak to me.  I felt that I am too flawed and full of imperfections to claim His word.

But in His wonder and glory, God has a way of letting me see the truth in Psalm 139:14.

More than 5 years ago, I underwent a total thyroidectomy.  The surgeon recommended not partial but to remove both of my thyroid glands since they were filled with multiple nodules.  After the smooth though tedious procedure, the surgeon commented that my case was amazing because he did not expect too many nodules (more than what was seen on the ultrasound) and there was not a visible bump on my neck.

Then 3 years ago, 2 lumps were found on my left breast.  Initial breast ultrasound did not determine if the lumps are benign or otherwise.  So I underwent a breast mammogram.  The procedure went well though what didn’t prepare me was the pain of having your chest pressed.  It’s like a 3-kilo weight pressed down on your breast. After the procedure, comes the agony of waiting for the result which would be released 2 to 3 days after.

I spent the next 2 days, contemplating on the what ifs.  Afterall, cancer runs in our genes. I even bargained with God asking Him to get rid of those lumps.  Upon learning of the situation, together with my hubby, our church pastor prayed not just for healing but for revelation of God’s purpose.

That night when we got home,  I was at peace.  Moreover, God spoke to me assuringly on Psalm 139:14.

‘I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful.’ God impressed in me that He fearfully created me to withstand such health conditions.

I maybe ‘thyroid glands less’ yet my metabolism functions just like anyone with thyroid glands.

Yes, I still have on my left breast 2 lumps which are benign.  And they are my constant reminder to trust that God is protecting my body from these lumps.  After all my God is bigger any lump.

‘I am wonderfully made.’  I still have a teeny weeny scar on my neck from the thyroidectomy procedure.  But it does not bother me at all. Instead it is my testimony of how God has and always been gracious to me.  It’s like a pendant given by God.

IreneA

Leave a Reply

