Image

The Beauty of Goodbyes

Lately, I come vis-a-vis with goodbyes. Although some goodbyes were expected, others were sudden and some quite unexpected.

Before I saw the end of 2015, I bade goodbye to a wonderful couple who has blessed me with their kindness and selfless devotion to the ministry. The couple has migrated to the US. Although it was something everyone was expecting, we were never emotionally prepared for the inevitable goodbyes.

Then not so long, on four separate occasions, I attended vigil services of well-loved individuals who passed on to another life. One of the four was an adorable uncle. Another one was a beloved servant of God while the other two were respected individuals in the community. At this moment you try sympathize with the bereaved family as you mourn with them. And at times you need to give a strong front and not get too emotional in order to encourage the family to stay strong and move on.

And my very own episode of goodbye is when I resigned from a post. Despite a very short stint, I relatively had a hard time bidding goodbye to a few colleagues whom I developed a strong bond with.

Yet through it all, I have found that in spite of all the emotional struggles indeed there is beauty in goodbyes.

Saying goodbye to people who have made a mark on your life is quite hard. Yet I realized when you look beyond why God allowed such goodbye and not just on goodbye per se then you begin to appreciate the beauty of it.

While I initially found it heartbreaking to see the couple left, by the grace of God I was encouraged to pursue and emulate their Christ-like disposition.

While I could not help but shed some tears (a cry baby as I am) during the vigil services, with God’s wisdom He gave me the uplifting words to share and to assure the bereaved loved ones of God’s faithfulness.

And while saying goodbye to newly formed bond could be piercing, still it feels good on how God has allowed me to get to know wonderful individuals and the anticipation of getting together in God’s perfect time.

IreneA

 

Leave a Reply

