Image

Overwhelmed not Overload

So many things to do. So little time to spare. Everything seems to be “ASAP”. Or everything seems to be urgently needed.

Have you ever felt that way? Did you ever find yourself holding a very long ‘to do list’, that mostly you end up accomplishing less or nothing at all?

Lately, I have gone to this side of the road. I felt that there were so many things on my ‘to do list’. I was anxious about anything and everything that crossed my mind. Even in my quiet time with God, I would just ask Him to make my day productive.

Indeed some of those days were productive in the sense that I got to meet the demands of daily grind. So productive, that I would be so exhausted and end up sleeping like a log.

But then, I felt something does not sit well on me and that something is not right.

Last Sunday’s worship service, as the pastor prayed for the church and the community I sensed the still small voice of the Lord telling me, ‘you have been so anxious and busy with the things around you, that you have set Me aside. Have I not proven to you that I am in control of everything? You need not be anxious. You need to be still and know that I am God.’

Admittedly, I did accomplished a lot of things. Admittedly as I was overwhelmed with so many things to do, I allowed listlessness to eat me up.  And admittedly I was so caught up with the things around me, that I failed to acknowledge God is control of everything, that I need not to be anxious of how things will unfold; that I need to be still and allow God to direct me.

Looking back I realized that I only asked God to make my day productive, when it should have been,

‘Gracious and Loving God, thank You for yesterday and how it has been. Thank You for today and the things that would unfold. Lord, help me to focus on you as I strive to be productive today.  Thank You for the strength and the wisdom that comes from You. Amen.’

IreneA

Leave a Reply

