Calm in the Storm

Sluggish. Severe migraines. Clumsiness. Spacing out. Hot flashes or extreme body temperature. Restlessness. Sudden anxiousness. Sexual dry spell or sex surge. And the list can go.  If you’re constantly having these kind of episodes and you’re almost as young as half a century, then you’re not alone.  Welcome to the other world of Peri menopause.  
Sadly though, Peri menopause is not a hot topic that everyone is fond of talking.  In fact, it seems that it is a topic oftenly avoided (or is it just in our country?).
Yes, I’m at this stage where my body is preparing for a transition to another phase.  To say, ‘I’m hormonal’ is an understatement.  Because more often than not, I sometimes or oftentimes cannot explain (or even understand myself) how or what I’m feeling.
For someone who mentally does a ‘to do list’ of the day, I get frustrated when all of a sudden I spaced out and I lost focus on what I’m doing or what I should do.  I get anxious when all of a sudden I get restless.  And how worse can it get, when sometimes I feel so alone when I’m not.  It’s like you’re in the middle of the storm.
For this reason, I ‘googled’ and search all the answers I could get.  And did I find the answer?  Yup, I did get the answer. The answer confirming that I’m experiencing peri menopausal syndrome.
Was I assured?  Nope.  In a way, it helped that I am able to rule out what I’m going through.  However, I needed something, someone to calm the storm I’m in.
In one of my readings, one expert advice struck me. She said it would hugely help when you’re able to share it and your significant other can empathize with you.   But what if your significant other simply has a hard time emphathizing?
It was then that I sought from the scriptures and was given the answer, “When my anxious thoughts multiply within me, Your comforts delight me.” (Psalms 94:19)
Psalms94_19
I was reminded of King David.  King David was one of the youngest or the youngest king who ruled Israel.  One day a shepherd then in a turn of event, became a King.  What a transition? A life-changing transition.  I could just imagine his restlessness and anxious thoughts.
However, since he was a man after God’s own heart, King David found comfort in the arms of God.  King David found his ‘calm in the storm’.
As meditated on this scripture, I was able to find the courage to share my predicament with my hubby.  As I asked God to fill our conversation with compassion and wisdom, more than listening my hubby assured me with his love and understanding.
Dear Lord, thank You for assuring me with Your comfort in whatever I may go through.  As I utter my innermost longings, You surround me with people who allows me to feel Your love and compassion. And in my   emotional turmoils, You are the Calm in the storm.  I praise and glorify You.  Amen
IreneA
Leave a Reply

